Bear Country

Bear Country_JUL25

 

 

13 thoughts on “Bear Country

  1. Various kinds of birds [(distracted by flights enigmas) crash into our sunroom windows … hummingbirds, blue jays, robins, little wrens and sparrows, and some unknown (or not known to me)] … none have passed from this earth, but they look so stunned/confused wondering “who put that house in my path?” … they meander onward after a few moments … dazed, but onward they go. I chuckle quietly and wonder/wander … directly into my door. Was it I who closed it? I know not!

  2. Really beautiful Chris. It’s incidental, but your piece reminds me of how I learned the meditative practice of Mettā. A Buddhist nun told me to imagine holding a bird in my cupped hands, and extending the feeling of loving kindness towards it. The following day I was walking in the high street of the village in Oxfordshire where I lived, and a bird flew into a shop window, falling stunned onto the pavement right before my feet. This was the very day after the nun had spoken to me. I took the bird home and kept it safe in a shoebox for a day before releasing it, thinking, she will be alright.

    • Hariod, I just came across your comment again. This is a wonderful story, steeped as is life with subtle mystery. Often (again yesterday) I’ve held small birds in hand and carried them to the safety of a bough or some other semi-hidden place to recover from shock. As I reread your words I’m aware or realize how flooded with compassion I am in these moments… how empty the world is, but for that small, shocked life in the palm of my hand. Thanks Hariod – it’s so nice to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

