Radiohead and the Kinettes

I met a guy last night in the mens washroom at the 5th Annual Kinettes Trivia Challenge. We had a three minute, intense conversation about music. He mentioned that his interests ranged from Pink Floyd to whatever was playing at any given moment. He loves music. Period. His team, which had cleaned up on the Sports category got creamed in Music. He couldn’t understand it. I said we did poorly as well, but I’m still stuck back at Pink Floyd. He suggested, quite passionately, that I check out Radiohead. The conversation continued into the crowded college gym. We ended our brief, heartfelt friendship near the beer line. He reminded me of the duck hunter I’d met earlier in the day who put his cellphone in his pocket as I approached. He waved at a couple of mallards flying over. They’re safe, he said. Oh how we laughed at his complete inability to shoot a duck. Not if his life depended on it. He just likes to get out.

Meanwhile at home on the computer I was carrying on a TED discussion with a woman from Italy and another from Milwaukee about destiny, coincidence and the nature of being.

This morning I was listening to Radiohead when the woman from Italy got back to me.

 

Leave a Reply

